Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
bangles82
2 août 2010

M iley 2009 Style Star of the Year

It's crazy how much you can change in one year -- just look at Miley Cyrus. Not that long ago, thanksgiving earrings was making fun of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato and goofing off with her best friend on YouTube on The Miley and Mandy Show. But this month, as Miley celebrates her 17th birthday, she's left that silly stuff behind. This more mature Miley has a whole new list of priorities. For starters, she's slowly saying good-bye to Hannah Montana, a role she still loves but admits is "so unlike myself now. I won't do another Hannah Montana movie."

Instead, she's focusing on even more grown-up pursuits, like her mega-successful Wonder World tour, a show she helped create and is, she says, "made for the people I relate to most -- girls my age." She just finished filming her first major dramatic film role in The Last Song, a movie based on a Nicholas Sparks novel, in theaters on April 2. (She has also been spending a lot of time with her hot costar Liam Hemsworth.) And she cocreated a clothing line for Walmart called Miley Cyrus & Max Azria, with designer Max Azria. The days of faux bubble-gum cheeriness are over for Miley and they've been replaced with a more authentic happiness.

As her attitude has become more self-assured, so has her style. She has abandoned the girly-bohemian vibe and is embracing an edgier sophistication. Miley confidently owns every look, whether she's in a silver tiered gown at the Oscars or a rocker mini at Teen Choice Awards. That's why she's Seventeen's Style Star of the Year. Miley sat down with Seventeen to talk about the secret to her cool style, her post-Hannah Montana plans, and how she's finally getting to live her life on her thanksgiving key rings.

17: What do you think makes your style your own?

Miley Cyrus: I like everything that goes against what is necessarily in. It's so much cooler when you can find something that's more unique. I love finding cool things at thrift stores, like vintage rings. It's more fun to be able to say that something cost two dollars instead of $200. I got a trucker hat from the army surplus store, and everyone always asks me if it's Gucci, and I'm like, "Nope!" I love that it's one of a kind.

17: Do you think your personal style has changed this past year?

MC: Definitely. I went through a stage where I took everything with color out of my closet and I literally wore only all black. I used to wear black military boots with black jeans and a black shirt. I look back, and I'm like, Girl, it's the middle of summertime in L.A. and you look nuts! My clothes should have been smiling more! I'm still not a huge fan of color, but I like accents of color to spice it up. I like neon accessories, or I'll wear my own red cheetah Miley & Max jeans with something plain. And I love lots and lots of jewelry. I have my ears and my nose pierced, and I always thanksgiving necklaces on a thousand bracelets.

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité